Namaste Nepal!

Leaving Melbourne winter and arriving in Kathmandu was something like being slapped around with a hot sweaty dusty doormat, and I really wasnt ready for it.
All of a sudden the 15oz Denim I was wearing seemed totally irrelevant and all I could think about was a shower and stripping down.
Within the first hour I did one of the most stupid things I’ve ever done in the history of traveling. I left my pack in the taxi whilst going in with the taxi’s tout dude to check out a hotel.
I was doing this just to shut him up and eventually as promised take me to the  actual hotel I wanted.
So we’re in side for less than two minutes, come back out and the taxi is gone.
With a bunch of snickering construction workers milling about, the tout dude turns to me in response to my disdain, and says “owe my godt, were dis yaw buhg” it was so comical and surreal I had to stop myself from laughing. But I start to size up which part of his huge fat head I will attack.
After a few heated demands, he was legitimately(?) concerned for my bag and we begin running down the street after this taxi. I wonder how dumb we look to everyone around us, another sucker that fell for that scam? Or what the hell is going on there?
So the run ended up turning into us jumping into another taxi, and him directing in Nepali “follow that taxi!”, again too comical to be real and I start to wonder how I’m going to continue this trip without the contents of that bag.
We eventually catch taxi #1, with my bag still inside, and the whole thing turns out to be a mis-understanding. The taxi driver was new and didnt realize he was suppose to wait when we went into the touts hotel. And the tout (a government employee) was commending me for taking a registered taxi, not some random off the street. And “if dis was India, yaw buhg gone forever, bye bye buhg”.
Lesson learnt! Idiot.

Life v2.0 009

Central Thamel, the tourist/backpacker hub, is a labyrinth of poky little streets and laneways all selling exactly the same shit. Its so easy to get lost, try to retrace your steps and you find another shop selling that hiking gear, or another stall with those wood carvings.
Every 30 seconds of walking the streets, one or more of the following happens:
‘Hey Mr! Where you from, ohh Australia, Canberra capital” – this guy wants to be your local friend/guide.
“Hey Mr! How are you? How long you stay in Nepal? You want trek” (pulls out a business card) – this guys wants to be your travel agent.
“(in a whisper) Hey Mr, you want smoke, Hashish? Gunja? I have good one” – this guy wants to be your dealer.

The thing that is absolutely hardest, looking like a white cracker with a blending in possibility of 1%.
I went for a huge walk today, to the local market and around way out of town, and you’d think I was the first white person to ever set foot.
It was the type of situation where you definitely didn’t want to have the camera even bulging out your pocket, and despite having no idea at all you walk with the confidence that you’ve been there for years.

Inbetween glares, I manage a few snaps..

Life v2.0 004

Life v2.0 007

Alu Tikka Chat 100NR, $1.40AU

Life v2.0 010

Life v2.0 013

Life v2.0 016

Life v2.0 018

Life v2.0 021

Life v2.0 024Waaaay too close to the wildlife. 0.25 second away from Rabies.

Life v2.0 025

Life v2.0 030Somosa Chat, Masala Dosa, Water 240NR, $2.50AU

Life v2.0 031

Life v2.0 033

I’m offline for the next few weeks, check back then.

8 Responses to “Namaste Nepal!”


  1. 1 beyondthislife September 3, 2009 at 11:06 am

    you beauuutttyyyy!

  2. 3 Helen Li September 3, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Such a good experience! Enjoy!

  3. 4 routinebitinghard September 4, 2009 at 3:28 am

    first taxi.

  4. 5 Mermaid September 17, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    can’t believe u r living life to the max. pls stay alive and have lots of fun!

  5. 7 marissafh March 31, 2012 at 3:22 am

    LOL! great posts and pictures! I was there a year before this post, and brought back memories. I had a ‘shoe doctor’ hounding me when I was in Thamel, trying to convince me to get my sneakers repaired … didn’t make it to Base Camp, maybe next time … and still working on Tibet as well … Good luck!


  1. 1 Namaste Nepal! « Leave Me Here.. | Today Headlines Trackback on September 3, 2009 at 12:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 669 other followers

