From Russia with Love

Lomo LC-A – Gallery & Review


Camera: Lomo LC-A
Location: Moscow, Russia.
Film: Kodak Pro Image 100
Photoshop: None

Gallery pt2 Coming Soon..

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Review – LOMO LC-A

If you’ve made it this far, I’m assuming you’ve already done some research into the illustrious but understated, Lomo LC-A, and know what I’m talking about here..

Intro
I’ve been wanting an LC-A for ages. They’re not impossible to get, just very hard when you’ve got no fixed address.
Searching and searching to no avail, it seemed easier for me to go to it, so I did.
Russia, The home of LOMO!

Why
Like the rest of the Lomo Cult following, I liked the quirkiness of it. I liked the unpredictability of the results, and I loved the vignetting.

I love its relative sleekness, I love that it doesn’t have any obtruding parts, I love that it wont accidentally fire when closed, and I love that you can throw it in your bag and not worry.

But there were a few more specific reasons behind my desire as well:
- Traveling the way I do, and the places I do, I wanted camera that would compliment and team up with the abundance of cheap and expired 35mm film I see everywhere.
Film thats been sitting in the window of that roadside kiosk for the last 8 years, the box is faded, and the new attendant doesn’t even really know what it is.
The type of place we’re they hold it up it, squint, shrug their shoulders, and say you can have it for 50c a roll.

- I wanted a camera that fell somewhere inbetween shooting my Hasselblad, and my G9. I wanted a carefree fixed length point-and-shoot. I wanted a camera that I didn’t have to stare at the back of before I shot it. I wanted a camera for the days when I didn’t have to take ‘proper’ photos.

Build & Size
You won’t fit the LC-A in the pocket of your jeans, but it will fit perfect in your jacket, backpack, handbag.
It’s one of the stronger camera’s I own and feels solid, I won’t say its indestructible because the first one I owned wound up destroyed (I purchased it like that), but for the most part its tough-ish, and if you take care of it, it should last forever!
All the functions are really tactile and it feels ‘nice’ to use.
I sit there winding and clicking even when there’s no film in it.

Use & Settings
I tend to use/set mine 3 different ways
1 – Aperture: Auto, Focus: Infinity. This is my prime setting. If I’m not indoors, this is predominately how I shoot.
2 – Aperture: 2.8, Focus: to suit. Indoors this is how I shoot, I want to force Lomo to suck in as much light as possible, not play Russian Roulette with long exposure times.
3 – Aperture: 16, Focus: Infinity. Sunny Landscape, I want it sharp all the way through.

I rarely look through the view finder, if I cared this much I shouldn’t be using the LC-A for the shot.

Results
For the small amount I’ve shot it so far, I’m really happy with the results.
It suits its purpose well, and I enjoy every click.
Obviously colors will depend on your film type, but the vignetting is everything I wanted and more :)

Overall
The LC-A is GREAT and there’s not much I don’t like about it.
In my mind the only con is that it needs batteries to operate (3x SR44 or LR44).
I feel however that its very much a sunny/outdoors camera, though I know alot of people will disagree. If you want low-light indoor guaranteed shots, its probably not the right choice for the shoot.
Other than that it’s now one of my favorite camera’s and it will be hard not to take it everywhere.

Enjoy.

19 Responses to “From Russia with Love”


  1. 1 Laughing Hard Crying Harder January 27, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Wow they really came out well! I guess you don’t want the destroyed one sent over…haha

  2. 2 thinkingtoofast January 30, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I seriously just want to eat that cathedral!

  3. 3 reflectionsonpossibility February 8, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Beautiful. I was looking at other Lomo camera but you have me sold on Lomo LC-A. Thank you for taking me places I have only seen in my travel-oriented daydreams!

  4. 4 Camila February 13, 2010 at 8:15 am

    Hello
    I need an opinion
    There’s a guy who sells me this camera and I really want it, but I’m afraid because it looks sooo old (well I know there’re very old, he says that this was made in 1991) but still…well this is the photo he sent http://i47.tinypic.com/2vhzu4i.jpg …how long do this cameras suppose to last??
    (I don’t know if my english is good…I’m learning)

    • 5 leavemehere February 13, 2010 at 5:38 pm

      Hey Camila,
      Don’t be scared of the camera because its old. One of mine in 1990, and one is 1991. They both work fine.
      The only way to really tell if the camera is ok is to have it in your hands and test it.
      Does the winder work, do the levers slide ok, does the shutter work when you press the button? Without know alot about cameras you should still be able to decide if the basic functions are operating.
      But, if the man is reputable and assures you they are, and the camera is a good price, i would feel comfortable buying it.
      Hope this helps.

  5. 6 stuart March 25, 2010 at 3:03 am

    Hi my LCA arrived today ! I love taking photos and getting different results but am not at all technical so I thought the LCA would be perfect for me ! however I have no idea what the lever on the left of the camera (as you look from the front) does it’s labeled 16/8/5.6/4/2.8/A I have looked at the instructions but they don’t make it clear at all ! as a person who seems to know their way around the camera I was wondering if you could give me an idiots guide to the lever – sorry I know its a big ask but I really want an understanding so I can get snapping !

    many thanks

    stu

    • 7 leavemehere March 25, 2010 at 3:41 am

      Thats lever sets your Aperture, in basic terms, its like an Iris of an eye, but you can force it larger or smaller depending on how much light you want the camera to suck in.
      Your easiest option is to just leave the lever set on “A”, which is for Automatic, that way you wont have to worry about it ;)
      But if you find some of your shots are coming out over exposed, especially in bright sunny conditions, experiment with it on 8 or 16.
      Hope this helps.
      And dont forget to set your film speed (ISO) accordingly up in the top right, 100, 200, 400 etc.

  6. 8 thepollyannafragments December 19, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Hello! I love your blog so very very much that I have nominated you for a liebster!
    It is at: http://thepollyannafragments.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/nomination-jubilation-observation/
    Cheers for the lovely stuff!
    Pollyanna.

  7. 9 Ozgur Akdemir Ozer January 15, 2012 at 12:01 am

    Hello, I am in Moscow and I wonder if you could help me on where I can find Lomo cameras ?
    Thank you :)

    • 10 leavemehere January 20, 2012 at 9:26 am

      Hi, its a little bit complicated because big new camera stores will not sell them. You have to find the older second-hand camera stores, or you might be lucky and even find one at a flea market.
      Google around and try to find a list of second hand camera stores, exploring and trying to find them is all part of the fun.
      Good luck!


  1. 1 (loMo)scow « Leave Me Here.. Trackback on February 21, 2010 at 12:12 am
  2. 2 (loMo)scow, pt 2 « Leave Me Here.. Trackback on February 23, 2010 at 11:32 pm
  3. 3 Kiev – the place, not the chicken. « Leave Me Here.. Trackback on February 27, 2010 at 12:36 am
  4. 4 Praha « Leave Me Here.. Trackback on April 23, 2010 at 7:30 am
  5. 5 Ljubljana « Leave Me Here.. Trackback on May 29, 2010 at 8:45 pm
  6. 6 Venice « Leave Me Here.. Trackback on May 31, 2010 at 6:03 pm
  7. 7 100,000 slaves – 80 years. « Leave Me Here.. Trackback on June 25, 2010 at 11:32 pm
  8. 8 ryds « Leave Me Here.. Trackback on July 18, 2010 at 4:32 am
  9. 9 Cairo – Street Level « Leave Me Here.. Trackback on September 21, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 665 other followers

