Dahab

Dive – Sleep – Eat

Dahab is the epitome of Diver-bum, backpacker hangout, staying-longer-than-you-planed, beach side town, and its where I’ve been living for the last month.

Not as package-tourist (or expensive!) as its nearby counterpart Sharm el Sheikh, life in Dahab is simple and basically revolves around a handful or ingredients: Scuba-Diving, Sun-Baking, Eating, Sleeping, Hanging out with Bedouin Kids.

Alot of the pics on here I take specifically for the blog, put some type of half-interesting story together, try and make it coherent.
But in true kick-back Dahab style, I barely pulled out a camera the entire month, so what you get this time is all off the cuff; shitty digi’s, camera phone and web cam combos.

And most of them wont mean anything unless you were there.

Enjoy.

View from the accom.

30m away from my doorstep.

Meye Meye!

Girls Dorm

‘Buy one, buy one!”

Home of the Best Falafel in Dahab.

6 Egyptian Pounds = $1.50 AU

Just across the water..The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

and its Frontier protection

Front Zip’s on wetsuits suck.

Muhammad (of course).

Swedes talk alot of shit.

Take a day off oil-covered-everything, there are some serious Russian options.

Kvas and Vareniki

Jamie found a roll of cash, so we hit up the best restaurant in town.

Dorm life.

8-11 Breakfast, (ie, breakfast and an early lunch)

Farwa and Rimi (milk me for Falafel)

Free Diving – Underwater diving on one breath.
I too originally came to Dahab to Scuba Dive, but after a few sessions I wasn’t that stoked with the dives (lots of fish and reef, not enough shipwrecks and caves) and quickly fell into the world of Free Diving.

Free Diving is definitely not for everyone. Its either going to be your thing or its not.
Holding your breath, lowering your heart-rate, descending as deep as you can, for as long as you can, fighting your body’s urge and contractions to breath, making it back to the surface without black-ing out in the 5-10m danger zone. Fun? Totally!

You reach a point were you are so relaxed underwater the whole experience is euphoric. The urge to breath completely disappears and your there, just floating around, so still, hanging out in the deep blue.
If your going for depth, after minus 15-20m you become ‘negatively buoyant’, meaning, your body is not floating any more, and you’ll begin to get effortlessly sucked down, faster and faster the deeper you go..

Then you do actually feel the need to breath, look up, and there’s a world of water above you..
I’d popped back up on the surface totally lucid, half conscious, half dizzy, floating on my back with the sun on my face, dying to sink back down and do it all again. Awesome.

the Mermaid – Аlena Молчанова

Me, stoked after making 27m meters, 2 mins, through ‘the bells’ window.
Alena: “Matthew, you diving deep alone again?! You should not dive deep alone!”

“why you buy from her, why not you buy from me!”

Upgrading

Farwa

TOURIST INFO
Cost – You can comfortably live off 100 Egyptian Pounds per day (13 Euros, or $20 AU). Thats basic accomodation, basic lunch and decent dinner with drinks.

To do – Dahab life is all about the water, in it, or around it.
Obviously the number one activity is Scuba Diving, but if you don’t dive, there are a number of other options – Wind Surfing, Kite Boarding, Snorkeling, all your hippy Yoga options, Sun Baking, Book Reading, Camel Safari-ing, Sheesha smoking, Quad Biking. But thats about it.
If your not into any of those, you might get bored.

9 Responses to “Dahab”


  1. 1 Dane July 21, 2010 at 1:59 am

    Good to see a few more updates again!!

  2. 2 Laughing Hard Crying Harder July 21, 2010 at 7:51 am

    This is my favourite entry thus far. Little Muhammad!

  3. 3 Amelia July 22, 2010 at 2:23 am

    Jesus Kovacs that’s a pretty fucking mean Tan.
    Muhammad has an awesome eyebrow..

  4. 4 Sum July 23, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Ahhh! I must go here. I just came back from Australia and went scuba diving for the first time at the Great Barrier Reef. It’s truly amazing and now I’m addicted to scuba diving! Don’t know if I’d ever free dive myself though. By the way, I discovered your blog through Frankie magazine! It was quite interesting to see your pictures in the article after recalling a chemistry lesson I had about the Chernobyl disaster. I’m so glad I found your blog because I absolutely love it. I love traveling and your pictures are beyond awesome. You’re real lucky you’re only a few feet away from the ocean. There are no real waters where I’m from.

  5. 5 Nicolas July 23, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Honoured to be part of your blog entry! :) So many memories…
    Hope you’re well mate…

  6. 6 Andrika July 25, 2010 at 1:22 am

    I am in that I just came back from Dahab- when am I going back phase! Thank you for these photos! As a Canadian (Ukrainian background) I am glad to see that I can get my Vareniki there next time I go!

  7. 7 jhwildlifefilm August 24, 2010 at 8:20 am

    Dahab reminds me a lot of Albania (minus the backpackers)….I am still new to your blog, but I hope you made it there so I can read your perspective. Clearly, I’m enjoying your cross-the-board journalistic hodgepodge.

  8. 8 Megan May 25, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    Hey there! Your photos/descriptions make Dehab look absolutely amazing! I’m heading there within the next few weeks after Cairo and am wondering if you could recommend a good (cheap) place to stay? I’m looking to do some diving and stay close to the beach. Would love any input!
    Thanks!
    Megan

    • 9 leavemehere May 25, 2011 at 8:13 pm

      Hey! Basically you want to head to ‘the lighthouse’ end of Dahab, it’ll be a shitty dusty carpark, but then just walk through beyond that to the waters edge, and its bumper to bumper accomodation all along there. Everywhere is similar and cheap so just pick something you like. I say the lighthouse end because I think the beach is nicest there, and the water quite deep as soon as you leave the shore ;)
      Have fun!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 665 other followers

