Muzammil.

Pakistan’s Vespa Guru.


I was on my way to “Camera Street” (a street literally jammed packed full of old camera stores) in Lahore, Pakistan one afternoon, when before I knew it, I was being sat down, and a cold coke shoved in my hand.
And thats how I met Muzamill Hussain Butt, Vespa Mechanic.

I had crossed paths with his shopfront, and it would be my afternoon hang-out for the rest of my time in Lahore.

The guy is a Vespa genius, and would spend he’s days taking what look like scraps of rust, and turning them into fully restored Vespa gems.

We’d drink cokes in the afternoon, and blaze around Lahore on Vespa’s in the eve, always battling the contstant debate, which was better, Chicken Burgers or Chicken Shwarmas.

We haven’t spoken in a long while now, but I hope he’s doing alright.

Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Film: Foretpan 100 (Expired 2003)
Camera: Hasselblad 500C/M – 80mm f2.8
Photoshop: Levels

*In hindsight I should have pushed this film, but it was the first roll of Fortepan I put through and I wanted to leave it as is, but alas, the slow shutter speed. C’est la vie.

Masters Apprentice

Vespa Testa

Muzammil

6 Responses to “Muzammil.”


  1. 1 hellenjc December 11, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    I love these..when did you take them?

  2. 4 Ceslie December 11, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Don’t you want to go back out there?

  3. 5 pixelnotation April 2, 2012 at 1:06 am

    Beautiful work…I’m a sucker for B&W photography. My grandfather was a photographer, he did work with Ansel Adams.

  4. 6 em September 15, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    Great series, Matthew. Those eyes in the second shot are intense.
    Nice to chat last night & I hope the rest of your show does really well…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 669 other followers

