Caerphilly, Wales.

I’ve always had a thing for Castles. I’d be quite happy living in one, problem is they were a bit before Melbourne’s time.


“So what about Wales this weekend?”
“Sounds good”

Welcome to Wales

GPS worked this time.

First things first.

Todays photos all courtesy the trigger happy Miss. Amy Jennings

Whaaaaat!

Roll change at -3 degrees

Excited children

Built in the 13th Century, Caerphilly Castle is the largest castle in Wales, and the second largest in Britain.
The inside of this places was insane (but a little too dark for my photographer to operate), mazes of passage ways and secret rooms link its 4 towers, and its Great Hall occupies a whole wing.
The exterior walls are over a meter thick in parts, and attack attempts from the 1640’s Civil War are barely noticeable.
Apparently they film some of Dr. Who here as well.
But who knows, I don’t watch that shit.

Babes and Medieval Weapons.

Bye Caerphilly.

“Can I get married in here?”

42 Responses to “Caerphilly, Wales.”


  1. 1 the faltese malcon January 9, 2010 at 12:39 am

    Nice one. I especially like the duck’s reaction! Cheers and happy traveling from a fellow coucher 😉

  2. 2 Moranna January 9, 2010 at 12:48 am

    Glad you liked Caerphilly. Understand your fascination with Castles. I live in Spain and we have some really impressive pnes.

  3. 3 thelocalguide January 9, 2010 at 12:53 am

    hehe, some weird texts on your photos 😛

    The castle really looks old, thx for sharing your trip 🙂
    If you have a thing for castles, I have a tower from 1170 in my blog at http://thelocalguide.wordpress.com/2009/10/30/melgaco-town-symbols/

  4. 4 dorkarama January 9, 2010 at 1:18 am

    I love the fact that from certain places in the castle you can see the local high street. Nothing compliments historical buildings like the local branch of Tesco Express.

  5. 5 irish87 January 9, 2010 at 2:07 am

    Amazing photos, truly they’re beautiful… but why do you have to flip off the poultry? That’s just mean.

    -Irish87

  6. 6 Glenna Meredith January 9, 2010 at 3:03 am

    Great photos, interesting narrative. Although, it’s hard to understand why you don’t like Doctor Who 😉 Still, it looks like a great trip. I’m planning a trip to Wales myself.

  7. 7 alex wyler January 9, 2010 at 3:20 am

    Fucking Ducks loooooool))) 😀

  8. 8 slamdunk January 9, 2010 at 4:54 am

    Wonderful photos–that looks like some place to explore.

  9. 9 mandy January 9, 2010 at 5:03 am

    haha you gave a goose the finger ,i’s so funny that goose’ nonchalant smile is even more

  10. 10 Barry January 9, 2010 at 5:07 am

    Out of all of those inspiring pictures, the one I enjoyed most was the flipping off of the duck. Classic. I’d like to borrow that for a blog I will soon be starting up if at all possible…

  11. 11 katie o. January 9, 2010 at 5:37 am

    These are incredible photos. Of course, Welsh pictures are prettier than their American counterparts. 🙂

  12. 12 Mike January 9, 2010 at 5:40 am

    really fun trip pics

  13. 13 Lois January 9, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Thanks for the memories! Terrific images. Surprised you didn’t tell how that huge wide tower got askew (if you found out). It was from an accidental gunpowder explosion way back when. Must have been quite an event.

  14. 14 miscellaneoussheepery January 9, 2010 at 8:30 am

    These are beautiful pictures, and it looks like you had fun there. The duck looks genuinely shocked that you’re flicking him off. =)

  15. 15 Tara Aarness January 9, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Great photos! Would love to explore Wales at some point in time…

  16. 16 jacintah January 9, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Fantastic post, thanks for sharing your trip.

  17. 17 Nguyễn Quốc Toán January 9, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Wales looks beautiful. I will go to this place. But I heard it’s damn cold there, right?

  18. 18 cloverxxkorhz January 9, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Cool Photos! Amazing… ^^
    I envy you guys, I just wish I can go to this place too! 🙂
    I also have a thing for castles (though I haven’t seen a real castle yet)LOLZ..

    Cool! Keep it up!

    _korhz

  19. 19 lilabyrd January 9, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Great Photos! Beautiful place too…. but watch out for those feathered critters…I know some …and that one might even be related to some that I know…lol…they have very good memories and they will track you down and you will never see them coming…..what they like to do as payback…. the sneak into your home when you are sleeping and move everything all around and then just to show you how good they really are…. they will put everything back exactly how it was before… yep! That’s right they got you back and you never saw them coming……sneaky aren’t they?

  20. 20 fcmfotoguy January 9, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    I have enjoyed viewing your photos… nice work.

  21. 22 xrdj83 January 11, 2010 at 1:08 am

    Hi my name is Dj

    I like the friendly goose, COOL!!!

  22. 23 pallet racking January 11, 2010 at 2:39 am

    very nice pictures, thanks for sharing

  23. 24 BigLittleWolf January 11, 2010 at 3:57 am

    The castle photos are terrific. You could wander Europe endlessly, and never tire of it. (Those of us who start young are never the same after. The world is too large, and we want to see as much of it as we can.)

    Enjoyed!

  24. 25 mc January 11, 2010 at 5:44 am

    Awesome photos and the goose…so funny

  25. 26 Scott January 11, 2010 at 5:52 am

    Wow; I just read about your trip on http://laughinghardcryingharder.wordpress.com/2010/01/09/your-legs-look-huge/ a few minutes ago. I’m a regular visitor there, and I recognized the pic on the freshly pressed page. Hope you had a nice visit there.

  26. 27 Mexican Haciendas January 11, 2010 at 6:12 am

    I’ve been to this castle as well, the great hall really is something special. Thanks for the moemories! 🙂

  27. 28 BlueNebula January 11, 2010 at 6:19 am

    That castle is absolutely amazing. Maybe some day when I get around to the UK ill have to check it out.

  28. 29 Joy January 11, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Love it! I was in Wales about 7 or 8 years ago and was at this exact castle. Caerphilly Castle is one of most beautiful and historic in the world – in my opinion. Thanks for the little travel back in time.

  29. 30 bennymandolin January 11, 2010 at 7:56 am

    Beautiful pictures! I went to Wales this past summer, and Caerphilly was one of the six castles I got to visit. I loved Caerphilly, but Kidwelly was my absolute favorite. I was able to climb to the top of one of the towers, and the view was absolutely magnificent!

    In short, nice job. ^_^

  30. 31 Nina January 11, 2010 at 8:09 am

    How beautiful this castle is. I have to visit it, too.

  31. 32 Patricia* January 11, 2010 at 9:01 am

    hello guys. im from Argentina. my name is Patricia.
    i just wanna say that your pics inspired me to express myself again through the thing that i love the most: PHOTOS.
    thanks for that. you don`t know what it means to me.
    i love photography. i think your photos are so full of feelings that made me smile. thanks for that again.
    kisses from Argentina.
    Wales is sooooooo beautiful
    Patricia*

  32. 33 joy January 11, 2010 at 11:19 am

    wooo………….great!!

  33. 34 Kike January 11, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Nice to remember through your shots that most impressive castle. Just the ruins are amazing … I always wondered how the people felt about it in its fresh times! Sorry but no need to flip off the goose. Enrique from Italy

  34. 35 katherinejoan January 11, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    These photos are amazing! So beautiful

  35. 36 Tarique January 11, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    wonderful !!!

  36. 37 Rangga Agastya January 11, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    is beutiful perfect

  37. 38 thinkingtoofast January 12, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    My dream is to live in a massive cold, old and amazing castle.
    Everyday would be so exciting, heaps of hidden rooms and a massive library and the fear of being in a huge house all alone. Would be so great! I’m jealous.

  38. 39 muzammil butt January 18, 2010 at 1:58 am

    helo my best friend.
    i miss you
    you are very enjoy
    you not forget me
    i rember you always
    my best friend matthew kovacs and muzammil butt
    vespa vespa
    this time where are you///////////

  39. 40 Jordan June 24, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Yes we in caerphilly have the 2nd biggest castle in Europe and a Tommy copper statue and dint 4 get the chesse oh and the endless amount of chavs and plastics oh how could u forget those

  40. 41 Schnettler September 5, 2011 at 12:03 am

    Wonderful post, I like your impressive blog, found you on FP.

  41. 42 Artik September 6, 2011 at 10:20 am

    Great post, please do publish more posts.


Leave a Reply

