Lviv

Ukraine’s most un-Ukrainian city.

The last couple of weeks I’ve been happily settled in Lviv, Ukraine.
It’s awesome! and not like any other part of Ukraine I’ve seen, complete Eastern-Euro cobblestone deal, nothing Soviet at all.
Its like all the joys of Prague or Krakow but without the tourists.

Adding to Lviv’s greatness is its amazing cafe scene.
Its like your favorite cafe at home x 10.
The one under the Opera House, the one through the unmarked alleyway, the one that only has 5 seats, the poky little one on the 3rd floor above that gallery. They’re everywhere.

I’ve been somewhere different nearly everyday, and all equally as great.

The town seems to be under a sputnik of Wi-Fi as well, unsecure connections wherever you go, get your facebook/twitter/friendster/livejournal updates real time, if only the youth had I-Phones.

They’ve also got Ukraine’s only indoor 50m pool, which means shit all to most people, but I miss training, and was happy to swim alongside the official ‘Ukrainian Swim Team’ for a while.
Think ‘If you don’t win, we’ll drown your family’ style motivation.

I actually haven’t taken many photo’s while I’ve been here, happy with the sun splashed streets being locked away in the memory bank instead, but I pulled out the ‘blad for a little while and tried to turn over a few shots.

I’m not overly siked with them, but thought some people might like a look anyway.

I originally shot them on color, but the lab scanned them to greyscale, and trying to convey the problem wasn’t being understood, so I guess it was just meant to be.

Camera: Hasselblad 500CM
Lens: 80mm f2.8
Film: Kodak Portra 400NC
Location: Lviv – Ukraine.
Photoshop: Density corrections / B+W Conversion

But as all good things come to an end, the visa’s almost over, the Wi-Fi is dropping out, the coffee beans have ran dry, and its time to leave.

Bye Lviv.

8 Responses to “Lviv”


  1. 1 itsmywar March 12, 2010 at 12:05 am

    I like you liked it🙂. That photo below “Dukat” with garbage bins – its Bankova street. In Kiev Presidents administration on Bankova street is situated🙂
    Did you visit any castles around Lviv region?

  2. 2 Marina_Ukraine March 12, 2010 at 12:59 am

    Yes, L’viv the wonderful beauty city here in West Ukraine.

    You take super foto’s.

    I liked this post, very much.

    And thank you for promoting postive image of my country !

    Sincerely,

    Marina.

    http://marinademchuck.wordpress.com/about/

  3. 3 goldnsilver March 12, 2010 at 11:09 am

    That’s great, what a find.

  4. 4 epicswife March 12, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Your pictures are amazing !!! Thanks for sharing !

  5. 5 eClair March 13, 2010 at 2:19 am

    I am such a sucker for cafes ! Ah! I’m putting Lviv on my “To-travel” list.
    I would have loved to see the color photos but the b&w is fantastic as well.

  6. 6 photoautomat? March 16, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    enjoy the laps? hope so. thanks so much for your beautiful, graceful advice tonight. i am so proud of you right now.

    xx
    p.

  7. 7 Brian May 31, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Found your blog looking up the name of the cafe underneath the opera-house. (It’s my fav. in L’viv.) Couldn’t find the name, but I did bump into some gorgeous pics. ^_^ Lets hope L’viv stays a secret to the Western European crowd for years to come. Though, I doubt that’ll happen come next year.

  8. 8 V for ... April 2, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    Great to hear the impressions of a traveller to my home city. I’m glad to see you liked it! Thanks for the pictures!


Leave a Reply

