Petra

Got a chisel?

Ever since I first visited Petra 5 years ago, I’ve said that it is the most amazing amazing shit I have ever seen.
2nd time around, it didn’t disappoint.

Better than Angkor Wat, Maya Ruins, Cappadocia, and all the temples in Asia combined, it is just something that has to be seen to be believed.

Walking through the Siq (*Canyon like crevice, pictured above) for almost a kilometer, then getting that little glimpse of the first major temple is just mind blowing.
It’s something straight out of Indiana Jones, literally, and was where they filmed multiple scenes from ‘the last Crusade’.

Petra was inhabited by the Nabataeans, ancient Arab tribes originally from the Arabian Peninsula.
It was a strategic area and the hub of major trade routes, connecting China and India to the Mediterranean Cities and Ports.
The Nabataeans became the undisputed masters of the regions trade route, levying tolls, and protecting caravans carrying precious Arabian Frankincense, African Ivory and Animal hides, Indian Spices and Silks.

Built around 1200 B.C (the first Pyramids where still 1400 years before this!), its just epic the size, detail and accuracy of the structures given the resources and tools that were available at the time.

Photo wise, its the first time that I really missed having a full frame SLR.
Shots on the Hasselblad will be sweet, but I just couldn’t capture the vast sweeping huge-ness of it all.
Its also really difficult to capture well, your in the dessert, hot sun beaming straight down on you, everything is half covered in shadow or burning sunlight.
Afternoon golden hour you say? Once the sun gets low, there’s no light coming into the Siq and the whole thing is in shadow.
All these shots you see really don’t do it any justice.

Go to Petra and check it out for yourself, it will be one of the most amazing things you’ll ever see.

9 Responses to “Petra”


  1. 1 photographyfree4all July 24, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    Wow! these are really great shots! This seems to be an amazing place.

  2. 2 Michael July 24, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Thanks for that. Ever since I saw a TV doco on Petra I realised it is a place I should have gone, A bit late now but I guess you can’t go everywhere and see everything in one short lifetime.
    Thanks for those mind blowing shots.
    Michael

  3. 3 terri July 24, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    wow!!!!!! awesome!!!!
    i wish i can see them by myself….
    bravo!! nice pictures…

  4. 4 Ceslie July 25, 2010 at 3:06 am

    WOW! I’ve always wanted to go thee and now even more so, based on your opinions about the heat, I’ll hopefully make it one day in cooler weather.
    Thanks again!

  5. 5 mike July 27, 2010 at 1:15 am

    Amazing photos man and to think I passed that experience up

  6. 6 Debbie July 28, 2010 at 5:10 am

    Beautiful photography! I want to visit!🙂

  7. 7 Jamie August 13, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    I missed the Monastary as I found myself really sick in Petra (and missed out of a day of exploring because I was bedridden), but I did climb to the top of the mountains and look at the Treasury from above! How awesome is Petra?😀

  8. 8 aaastern August 20, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    very impressive! I’ve never really thought of going to Petra but now I want it, I think it’s worth! Take care!

  9. 9 LiShian September 21, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Hi, just pass by your blog…this is really impressive. Petra is one of my favor too. Hopefully one day could dream comes true ^^


Leave a Reply

