Kimbra – live at the Palais

Somebody that you could’ve known?


Choosing to forgo the stage for the airport, it’s been a while since I picked up the camera to shoot a live gig, what use to be almost 3 times a week when I was with Triple J, is now far and few between.

Never the less, raised on the goodness of film and spot metering, gigs tend to be like riding a bike (or more like popping-a-mono down the whole street), the phone rang last week calling up favor, then there I was, down at the Palais.

The Palais – one of the nicest venues in Melbourne, and also one of the hardest to shoot.
Stuck in the galleys side of stage, its a 3-songs-and-your-out type of affair.

A good 15 meters from the mic, your not getting a decent head shot unless your wielding a 600mm lens like the chumps from the major news papers, who shoot on hyper-drive the whole time and wouldn’t know decent live music photography if you slapped them in the face with Rollingstone.

My main body was on loan to a friend, so I blew the dust off old-faithful, Canon EOS 20D, 6 years later and still going strong.

Media release shoved in-front of my face 2 seconds before stage, I scrawled a nameless autograph and proceeded to position.
No doubt I probably don’t have permission to even publish these, but really, I simply couldn’t give a shit.

Enjoy.

1 Response to “Kimbra – live at the Palais”


  1. 1 Juan June 22, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    Hey🙂 love these pics, I used one of them on by blog: http://www.weeklypodcast.net/five-indie-acts-other-independent-artists-can-learn-from/ Let me know if that’s ok! If not I’ll take it down. Greetings from Sydney!


Leave a Reply

