Cairo – Street Level

What goes on behind the Pyramids?..

The day I landed in Cairo, I walked out of the airport and there was a apocalyptic sand storm covering the whole city.
My little taxi driver was waiting for me, and then off we headed into the abyss.

I sat there in that taxi super excited, I couldn’t see 50m infront of us, but I was excited nonetheless.
This was Cairo, a place Egyptians nickname ‘the mother of the world’, a place where desert and city collide, a place where ‘busy’ gets a whole new definition, and a place where 20-million-people call home.

Camera:Lomo LCA (R.I.P – its dead for now)
Film: Fuji Superia X-Tra 400
Location: downtown Cairo, Egypt. June 2010.
Photoshop: Scanning color-shift corrections.

From sidewalks jammed like Sardines in can, to the cue for trying to buy an ice-cream resembling a mosh pit, day to day in Cairo is something else.

There’s alot of cities around the world that ‘never sleep’, but seeing kids just hanging out with Mum downtown at 3am give you a new perspective on it.

Crossing the road is near impossible, you’ll get ripped off buying anything and everything, and wiping black smog off your face becomes and hourly activity.

These photos don’t even touch the tip of iceberg of shooting possibilities in Cairo, and in no way convey even the epic chaotic-ness of simply walking down the street, but my Lomo died after the Pyramids and these were all I could save from the jammed roll.

Maybe its your gateway to the Middle East, or Africa, or maybe your just ticking off wonders of the world, whatever your reason though, Cairo is a place that needs to be experienced to be believed.

11 Responses to “Cairo – Street Level”


  1. 1 Laughing Hard Crying Harder September 21, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Yo I enquired about getting your lomo you left here fixed, they said £80 all up plus any extra parts they might need to procure haha. That’s still cheaper than trying to buy one through ebay but. Maybe when i’m rich i’ll get it fixed up and send it home.

    Such good pictures, r.i.p. x x x

  2. 2 leavemehere September 21, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    I think they underestimate how much that one is fucked, I’m pretty sure its the electronics (amongst things), not just the mechanics.
    My current is only part time dead, I need proper (mini)tools to fix it, which funnily enough, I’m not carrying around in the backpack. Hopefully sort it once I get home.

    Hows Trip 35? Roll 1 developed?

  3. 3 Laughing Hard Crying Harder September 22, 2010 at 12:21 am

    Haha i think they underestimate it too.

    Trip 35 is going good, hopefully got some good shots, gonna get it developed this weekend. I’m hoping the roll i put in wasn’t already used otherwise it’s gonna be double negative central haha, could make for some interesting outcomes though.

    I want some of that puff bread.

  4. 4 Jamie September 22, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    How was it being a man in Cairo? Ben and I recieved A LOT of attention just because I was a woman.

    • 5 Lauren Young September 24, 2010 at 2:27 am

      Jamie I was in Cairo this summer and my friend and I were hassled quite a bit because we were female. So I totally sympathize with you.

    • 6 leavemehere September 24, 2010 at 4:57 pm

      Being a man in Cairo isn’t THAT much different than being a woman, they stare, and stare, and stare, but I get to shove back in cue’s, and they’re relatively scared when you get angry 😉

  5. 7 Riley September 24, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    KOVACS! TROUSER SNAKES ON A FucKN PLANE…

  6. 8 paula September 24, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    ahhh i loved cairo and cairo loves the camera. i know a great lomo doctor. off to sri lanka soon, wanna come? hope your heart is full. x

  7. 9 Amber October 6, 2010 at 5:22 am

    hey dude how are ya? heading to egypt via ferry from venice. 4 day ferry should be an experience. let me know any good tips on places to go and whatnot. UK rejected us so we’re goin to capetown. xx

  8. 10 carpathianpeasant October 10, 2010 at 6:51 am

    It’s a darn shame you lost some of the pictures. As usual, they are superb. You are good at this type of photography!

    Love,
    Carpathian Peasant

    • 11 dodge October 28, 2010 at 10:46 am

      Yes I agree with the author stating that he got ripped off for everything and anything, I was almost always short changed, that rarely happens in Canada. The Egyptians just can’t help themselves.

      In Aswan last year I was charged 750 Egyptian Pounds for a couple of ounces of spices and nuts in the souk. I told the vendor his whole spice store was not even worth 750 EP or $135 CND.


Leave a comment




Enter your email to stay up-to-date with new posts sent directly to your inbox.