‘Pest by Pinhole

Rollin’ bout town with a 35mm Matchbox..


I’ve had a bit of spare time lately.. and miss my little arts and craft hobby of bookbinding..

So I got a matchbox, got some gaffa tape, drank a coke, and whipped up one of these..

WTF is that (some of you) will be thinking.
Its a Pinhole camera made from a Matchbox.
If you don’t know what a Pinhole camera is, its basically a lens-less camera, where light passes through a tiny ‘pinhole’ and straight onto the recording medium; film, paper, glass etc.
Understand?

I take no credit in the overall design at all, and there is also no point me explaining the construction in detail because you can just check out matchboxpinhole.com and hack your own up today.

Get busy!

Camera:Matchbox Pinhole
Film: Fuji Superia X-Tra 800
Location: Budapest, Hungary. October 2010.
Photoshop: Minor Curves

PS – If you get your lab to scan the negs, you might want to try and explain what you’ve done, otherwise they’ll make a mess of them..

‘Aint no iPhone-Hipstamatic-plug in for the feeling of picking up that film from the lab!

7 Responses to “‘Pest by Pinhole”


  1. 1 weaselwiththecam October 22, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Wow, these are awesome. Definitely will try this.

  2. 3 fuhleeshuh October 23, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    That is fucking neat! It looks pretty ghetto, but that’s awesome.

  3. 4 carpathianpeasant October 24, 2010 at 10:40 am

    The side of a car while sitting on the sidewalk?

    Why do I have this feeling you are looking for something to do?

    Would you like to visit a village that seems to have disappeared from the map? Or, a castle village with an abandoned castle? (I’m not positive about the former, I just can’t find it.)

  4. 5 Nathaniel Try October 25, 2010 at 1:26 am

    Just spent a week in Budapest and was not even close to being ready to leave!

    Fantastic city and an awesome blog entry!

    Love it.

  5. 6 lovelabors October 26, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    My first photo class we made a pin-hole camera out of a soup can, this looks way cooler, I’ll definitely give it a try. Did you develop the film yourself or did you have a lab do it for you?

  6. 7 Diane Peterson April 8, 2011 at 7:18 am

    my blog entry automatically generated your blog to my site..I love pinhole..love to see others doing this!


Leave a comment




Enter your email to stay up-to-date with new posts sent directly to your inbox.